brunch places, Food, Melbourne
Leave a Comment

Eating at: Hash Specialty Coffee & Roasters

Hi friends! Another weekend, another brunch adventure. This time round I went to visit Hash Specialty Coffee & Roasters (#).

Just an FYI this place hasn’t ranked very well on Urban Spoon/Zomato? (whatever it is now). But I wanted to go anyway because sometimes reviews can be wrong (in this case it was kind of right :/). The outside facade of this place is pretty cool and will probably be able to capitalise on the grumpy brunch goers waiting in The Hardware Societe forever queue.

DSC_0841

DSC_0845

The main attraction at Hash is their signature Fairy Floss Hot Chocolate. I am a huge hot chocolate fan (of late) and it has lead to me gain a couple of kilos. Nevertheless this hot chocolate was amazing and i would do it again!

DSC_0855

DSC_0872

DSC_0876

A fascinating concept where the fairy floss is the sugar to compliment the melted chocolate. Kind of concerning though, considering melted chocolate already has sugar in it…but whatever. It was  good fun and so delicious! I expect people are meant to drink their hot chocolate and coffees slowly; savouring the taste. I am like a vacuum; inhaling it within 10 minutes.  Yum!

DSC_0849

DSC_0869

While the hot chocolate was amazing, I couldn’t really say the same for the food. Probs should have gone with another signature dish but i decided to make my own – scrambled eggs, roasted mushrooms, heirloom tomatoes, hash brown and tomato and zuchinni relish. Classic kind of meal which you can’t stuff up too badly. But it was just so… blah. I don’t know how else to describe it. Lack lustre? …bland maybe? I still ate everything though… i mean it’s food and i like to eat the food. But I ate it and felt no “ooh” moments. No “that’s nice” thoughts. I was just blank. Hence my “blah” description.

I’m sure the other dishes on the menu were good. I think my friends were happy with the salmon something. I’m definitely not writing this place off. I mean, if they have a fairy floss hot chocolate, surely there is another breakfast on there that will make me happy! Maybe the Leek and Cheddar Croquettes?

Xx Suri

Leave a Reply

